TAKE ACTION ON SB 95 and HB 1099 TODAY!

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

SB 17 095 Repeal the Death Penalty

This bill would abolish the death penalty in the state of Colorado.

We believe that all people have a natural right to life, because every human being is made in the image and likeness of God, who alone is Lord of life from its beginning until its end (cf. Genesis 1: 26-28).

The state of Colorado has other means available to it besides the death penalty to exact justice and render a criminal unable to do harm. We need to continue the reform of our criminal justice system, and we need to impose punishment in a way that protects society from violence while avoiding further killing under official guise.

This bill will be heard in the Senate Judiciary Committee Wednesday, February 15 at 1:30 p.m. in committee room 271.

ACTION: Please contact the members of the Senate Judiciary Committee and your state Senator and ask them to SUPPORT Senate Bill 95.

TO FIND YOUR SENATOR CLICK HERE

TO READ SENATE BILL 95 CLICK HERE

CCC STATEMENT ON CAPITAL PUNISHMENT

 

TO LISTEN TO THE HEARING ONLINE CLICK HERE

 

Senate Judiciary – 5 Members
Sen. Bob Gardner       Chair

SD 12   Republican

303-866-4880

bob.gardner.senate@state.co.us

Twitter Handle: @RepBobGardner

 

Sen. John Cooke         Vice-Chair

SD 13   Republican

303-866-4451

john.cooke.senate@state.co.us

Twitter Handle: @JohnCooke4SD13

 

Sen. Don Coram

SD 6     Republican

303-866-4884

don.coram.senate@state.co.us

Twitter Handle: @N/A

 

Sen. Rhonda Fields

SD 29   Democrat

303-866-4879

rhonda.fields.senate@state.co.us

Twitter Handle: @RepRhondaFields

 

Sen. Daniel Kagan

SD 26   Democrat

303-866-4846

senatordanielkagan@gmail.com

Twitter Handle: @DanielKagan

 


 

HB 17 1099 Concerning the Termination of State Funding for Higher Education Institutions that Engage in the Trafficking of Aborted Human Body Parts
 
This bill would require that institutions of higher education that engage directly or indirectly in the purchase or trafficking of aborted human body parts would not receive State funding in the next fiscal year.

The Colorado Catholic Conference SUPPORTS this legislation.

This bill will be heard in the House State, Veterans & Military Affairs Committee on Wednesday, February 15, 2017 at 1:30 p.m. in committee room LSB-A

ACTION: Please contact your Representative and members of the House State, Veterans & Military Affairs Committee and ask them to SUPPORT HB 1099.
TO READ HB 1099 CLICK HERE 

TO FIND YOUR REPRESENATIVE CLICK HERE

TO LISTEN TO THE COMMITTEE HEARING LIVE ON FEBRUAY 15TH CLICK HERE

State, Veterans & Military Affairs: 9 members

 

Rep. Mike Foote                      Chair

HD 12   Democrat

303-866-2920

mike.foote.house@state.co.us

Twitter Handle @RepMikeFoote

 

Rep. Susan Lontine     Vice Chair

HD 1     Democrat

303-866-2966

susan.lontine.house@state.co.us  

Twitter Handle @LontineHD1

 

Rep. Adrienne Benavidez

HD 32   Democrat

303-866-2964

adrienne.benavidez.house@state.co.us     

Twitter Handle @ N/A

 

Rep. Edie Hooton

HD 10   Democrat

303-866-

edie.hooton.house@state.co.us     

Twitter Handle @EdieHooten

 

Rep. Steve Humphrey

HD 48   Republican

303-866-2943

rephumphrey48@yahoo.com

Twitter Handle @SteveHumphrey48

 

Rep Tim Leonard

HD 25   Republican

303-866-2582

tim.leonard.house@state.co.us    

Twitter Handle @ N/A

 

Rep. Jovan Melton

HD 41   Democrat

303-866-2919
jovan.melton.house@state.co.us  

Twitter Handle @JovanMelton

 

Rep. Mike Weissman

HD 36   Democrat

303-866-2942

mike.weissman.house@state.co.us        

Twitter Handle @MJWeissman

 

Rep. Dave Williams

HD 15   Republican

303-866-5525

dave.williams.house@state.co.us  

Twitter Handle @RepDaveWilliams